Tourism

le Canal du midi

The Canal du midi

Under the supervision of Pierre-Paul Riquet, its was built from 1666 to 1681, during the reign of Louis XIV. It is one of the oldest canals in operation in Europe. Since 1996, It was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site . The canal has become a tourist attraction and place for leisure activities, with many people rowing, canoeing, fishing, cycling, and admiring the operation of the locks. Located at 800m from La Marelle.

   
l'Abbaye de Fontfroide

The Abbaye de Fontfroide

Visit the Abbaye de Fontfroide, a must in the department of Aude and Cathar country! A few kilometers from Narbonne ,it is one of the best preserved Cistercian monuments in France. A site to discover all year, between family or friends.

   
La Cité de Minerve

The Cité de Minerve

Cité de Minerve, historic capital of Minervois, it is now one of the prestigious gates of the Regional Natural Park of Haut Languedoc and listed among the "Most Beautiful Villages of France".

Between Cevennes and Black Mountain, the city of Minerva stands on a rocky buttress overlooking the gorges de la Cesse and Brian. Natural Bridges of the Vallée de la Cesse make a unique geological site .

   
Carcassonne

The Cité de Carcassonne

The city of Carcassonne is classified UNESCO World Heritage site since 1997. One of the most important medieval city, this is the place that will immerse you into its history. If you're lucky enough to be there during the festivities of July 14 th, do not miss the magnificent fireworks.

   
The Château de Queribus

The Château de Queribus

It is the subject of a classification as Historic Monuments since 1907. This fortress, perched on a rocky outcrop 728 meters above the sea level, overlooking the village of Cucugnan and lies on the border of the Aude and Pyrénées Orientales departments.

   
Le Château de Peyrepertuse

The Château de Peyrepertuse

If you have some time to visit the Cathar castles, choose the Château de Peyrepertuse, not only for its unbeatable site and breathtaking views, but also because the complex is exceptionally well preserved. Peyrepertuse is one of the most impressive castles in Europe, clinging along a very jagged peak, surrounded by the Pyrénées.

   
L'épanchoir de l'Argent Double

The Épanchoir de La Redorte

Located on the left bank of the Canal du Midi, one kilometer east of the village.
The aquaduct at La Redorte is one such, consisting of 11 stone arches built using VaubanÂ’s original 1694 plans and carries the canal over the Argent-Double river. It can also be used as a means of irrigation to empty water into the river below when required.This outfall was built out of necessity because it was not planned in the original works.Floods of the Argent-Double river flowed largely in the Canal and brings branches and sands in the riverbed and hindered navigation.

   
   

LA MARELLE - 19 Avenue du Minervois - 11700 La Redorte - France - Tél. +33 (0)4 68 91 59 30 / +33 (0)6 71 96 45 77
Website created and hosted by Syxago - legal notices

Tourisme

le Canal du midi

Le Canal du midi

Sous la supervision de Pierre-Paul RIQUET, le chantier dure de 1666 à 1681, pendant le règne de Louis XIV. Il est l'un des plus anciens canaux d'Europe en fonctionnement. Depuis 1996, il est inscrit sur la Liste du Patrimoine de l'UNESCO. Vous pouvez lors d'une ballade à pied, en vélo ou en bateau, admirer le fonctionnement des écluses.
Situé a 800m de La Marelle.

   
l'Abbaye de Fontfroide

L'Abbaye de Fontfroide

Visitez l'Abbaye de Fontfroide, un site incontournable de l'Aude et du Pays 'cathare' ! A quelques kilomètres de Narbonne se trouve un des monuments cisterciens les mieux conservées en France. Un site à découvrir toute l'année, une idée de sortie en famille.

   
La Cité de Minerve

La Cité de Minerve

La Cité de Minerve, Capitale historique du Minervois, elle est désormais l’une des portes prestigieuses du Parc Naturel Régional du Haut-Languedoc et figure parmi les « Plus Beaux Villages de France ».

Entre Cévennes et Montagne Noire, la cité de Minerve s’élève sur un éperon rocheux qui domine les gorges de la Cesse et du Brian. Les ponts naturels de la vallée de la Cesse en font un site géologique d’exception.

   
Carcassonne

La Cité de Carcassonne

La Cité de Carcassonne est classée au patrimoine mondiale l'UNESCO depuis 1997. Une des plus importantes cité médiévale, c'est un lieu incontournable qui vous plongera dans son histoire. Si vous avez la chance d'être de passage pour les festivités du 14 juillet, ne manquez pas son magnifique feu d'artifice.

   
Le Château de Queribus

Le Château Queribus

Il fait l’objet d’un classement au titre des Monuments Historique depuis 1907. Cette forteresse, perchée sur un piton rocheux à 728 mètres d'altitude, domine le village de Cucugnan et se situe à la frontière du département de l'Aude et des Pyrénées Orientales.

   
Le Château de Peyrepertuse

Le Château de Peyrepertuse

Si vous avez peu de temps pour visiter les châteaux Cathares, privilégiez le Château de Peyrepertuse, non seulement pour son site imbattable et des vues stupéfiantes, mais aussi parce que le complexe est exceptionnellement bien préservé. Peyrepertuse est un des châteaux les plus impressionnant d'Europe, s'accrochant le long d'une crête très déchiquetée, entourée par les Pyrénées.

   
L'épanchoir de l'Argent Double

L'Épanchoir de La Redorte

Situé sur la rive gauche du Canal du Midi, à 1 kilomètre à l'Est du village.
L'épanchoir de l'Argent Double fut terminé en 1694 suivant les plans de VAUBAN. Cet ouvrage technique et architectural en pierres de taille composé par une succession de 11 arches est incontournable. Il permet au canal d'évacuer son trop plein d'eau et sert à vider les biefs lors du chômage dans la rivière de l'Argent Double. Cet épanchoir a été construit par nécessité car il n'était pas prévu dans les ouvrages initiaux. Les crues de l'Argent Double se déversaient en grande partie dans le Canal et des apports de branchages et de sables se déposaient dans son lit et entravaient la navigation.

   
   

LA MARELLE - 19 Avenue du Minervois - 11700 La Redorte - Tél. +33 (0)4 68 91 59 30 / +33 (0)6 71 96 45 77
Site réalisé & hébergé par Syxago - mentions légales